link round up 2

WHAT A WEEK!!!!! Our podcast officially launched, we had a launch party (with cake), all the while Elisabeth started working and Maddie got her work permit! We’re excited for a less stressful week on Monday….CYOgjnOWAAEtMQ1.jpg large

BEFORE WE BEGIN OUR NORMALLY SCHEDULED LINKS: I thought I caught all the Best Of Roundups of 2015 in the last link round up, but I came across this NPR 50 Best Things From 2015 and I thought it was quite touching and sweet. Kind of made me want to do one? Though let’s be honest, if I did, all 50 of my reasons would be women and TV shows….

TV Things

The biggest disappointment of this week has most definitively been the announcement of the cancellation of FX’s Cassius and Clay before it EVEN STARTED… like I know it was too good to be true but I’m STILL disappointed…

JJ Abrams confirmed that this will probably be the last season of Person of Interest. Person of Interest fans continue to ignore him.

Movie Things

Did you know that there is an epic 24 minute video entitled Star Wars : Evolution of the Lightsaber Duel on youtube??? It’s super cool ngl

While we’re talking about Star Wars, here is my fave drama of the week:

First came the outpouring of outraged backlash to the idea of lesbian Boba Fett, which prompted more piqued responses, analysis of the new fan theory, wiki defacing, the lesbian Boba Fett playlist, and general hilarity. Eventually, tumblr user sashayed broke down the phenomenon in a hilarious “get off my lawn” response to the outrage.

Book Things

HOPE LARSON AND BRITTNEY WILLIAMS ARE WORKING ON A NANCY DREW-ESQUE COMIC BOOK I’m so excited since it’s:

a new comic book series about 16-year-old detective-in-training Marigold “Goldie” Vance, who dreams of one day becoming the full-time in-house detective at her father’s Florida resort.

A super interesting article about what we use reviews and criticism for by Leila Roy! I think she draws a lot of different reasons (trigger-y subjects, searching for diversity, looking for specific comparison), and I honestly totally agree with her: it’s why I have vowed to review more books on goodreads! I love books, and as someone who wants to pay tribute to the hard work of the authors, I feel like reviewing them is the best that I can do for them.

I see criticism as a way of treating stories, regardless of format, regardless of genre, regardless of intended audience, with respect. In looking closely at them, we are saying that they DESERVE to be looked at closely—how can we expect the larger reading community to take YA, middle grade, comic books, romance, or any other marginalized category seriously if we don’t do that ourselves?

Olivia Cole wrote a really cool article for Huffington Post drawing attention to post-apocalyptic books by and about people of colour; I’m embarrassed to admit that I have not read any, though the Octavia Butler book is on my list…

It’s been written about before: the problem with mainstream post-apocalyptic and dystopian fiction and its absence of people of color. In the imaginations of so many writers of these genres, people of color don’t ever seem to survive the apocalypse, or somehow the series of events that led to the dystopian society that has banned smiling (or dreaming, or whatever the big “gasp” factor is) wiped out people of color along the way.

I am actually in love with Jia Tolentino, not only because her perfect dog is perfect, but also because she writers amazing things like this:

In other words, I get why you’d avoid reading 10:04 or what have you; I don’t understand why it’s ever more productive to say so than just to read something else and (omitting the part about your commitment to social justice) talk about that. Justification for obviously rewarding acts is always unnecessary, and in the case of reading “diverse” writers, the reward can be meaningfully deflated by the announcement of the act itself. The people most excited to say, “Uh, I’ve actually been reading a lot of Nigerian writers lately?” tend to be white people; the space taken up by being interested in one’s own Here’s Why I’m Only Reading X Minority Group project is often counterproductive to the point.

Anyway, right after I say that, I include this challange (thought to be honest, I think this challenge is the type of thing that Jia was talking about predominantly). Renay, over at LadyBusiness, has decided: “one of my resolutions this year is to read 100 new-to-me women writers. However, it’s not an exclusive challenge, so I can still read white men, but also non-binary authors, too.” I honestly love this challange! It’s not only going to help keep my reading diverse, but it will also allow me to discover new voices! My favorite element of this challenge is that “Once an author has been read, no further work will count for the challenge although if I like them feel free to consume their back list.” I feel like this is so awesome? So anyway, I think I’m going to participate in this with Renay!

Tumblr user evelynatthecircus wrote an excellent meta about Ancillary Justice and naming, but beware of spoilers if you’re still reading the book!

I read Ash by Malinda Lo yesterday and I loved it. Honestly, it was amazing.

Fandom Things

Femsplaining podcasters are launching a tinyletter in which they promote fic! I’m tentatively excited! I love Elizabeth Minkle, so let’s see what happens!

Don’t you love it when celebrities add to their own fandoms?

A super interesting article about “how the internet picks its boyfriends,” specifically about Oscar Isaac:

Usually it’s a man with enough mystery to keep these projections of desire from puncturing, but enough charm that his popularity was merely a matter of timing. Usually it’s a man in his early or mid-30s, old enough that a teenager will find him refreshingly mature and a grown-up can lust after him with impunity. And usually it’s someone surrounded by an aura of authenticity. There must be a conception (whether it’s true is moot) that he earned his current position through hard work rather than dumb luck. There’s often some flaw or idealized vulnerability attached to him or his character — Benedict Cumberbatch didn’t think he was handsome, and plays a character with the emotional intelligence of “a high-functioning sociopath.” Sebastian Stan was an immigrant from a communist nation and plays a character used by the government. Oscar Isaac, Rami Malek, and Idris Elba have all spoken about their worries about being typecast because of their race. Tom Hardy plays a man broken by a dystopian hellscape.

The most interesting thing about this article, and about the analysis, is that it’s not at all applicable as to how the internet (femslash fandom, that is) picks its girlfriends. What makes us so different? What do we look for that these fangirls don’t? I think it’s an interesting comparison tbqh.

tweet of the week:

Leave a Reply

